Barry Faulkner 1936 Constitution Mural (restored)


1. Edmund Randolph Virginia
2. Nathaniel Gorham Massachusetts
3. John Dickinson Delaware
4. John Rutledge South Carolina
5. James Wilson Pennsylvania
6. Oliver Ellsworth Connecticut
7. Charles Pinckney South Carolina
8. James Madison Virginia
9. Elbridge Gerry Massachusetts
10. William Samuel Johnson Connecticut
11. George Mason Virginia
12. George Washington Virginia
13. Benjamin Franklin Pennsylvania
14. Rufus King Massachusetts
15. William Paterson New Jersey
16. Charles Cotesworth Pinckney South Carolina
17. Gouverneur Morris Pennsylvania
18. Alexander Hamilton New York
19. George Read Delaware
20. William R. Davie North Carolina
21. John Langdon New Hampshire
22. Luther Martin Maryland
23. Roger Sherman Connecticut
24. Gunning Bedford, Jr. Delaware
25. Abraham Baldwin Georgia

Mural, before conservation Mural, after conservation
This detail of Barry Faulkner’s Declaration of Independence mural depicts Founding Fathers Joseph Hewes and Edward Rutledge. The photograph at left shows some of the buckling where the mural had lost connection to the wall. The photograph at right shows what that section looks like after it was restored and rehung in the Rotunda. (Photo by Olin Conservation, Inc.)


More Details on the restoration process can be located here.

Declaration Mural By Faulkner

%d bloggers like this: